Many of WA’s best young city and regional students, most fresh from high school, will benefit from generous scholarships offered by The University of Western Australia.

They are the UWA Fogarty Foundation Undergraduate Scholarships, UWA Vice-Chancellor’s Awards and Group of Eight University Scholarships. 

UWA Vice-Chancellor, Professor Alan Robson, said the UWA Fogarty Foundation scholarships were awarded to students who demonstrated not only significant academic potential but also a strong sense of community responsibility and involvement.

“I would again like to thank Mr Brett and Mrs Annie Fogarty who, in partnership with UWA continue to foster the attainment of excellence and in learning and study among young Western Australians,” Professor Robson said.

“These scholarships inspire students from across WA to pursue their tertiary education at this University and to actively participate and contribute to their local community throughout their studies and beyond.”

Recipients of the UWA Fogarty Foundation City Scholarship, which covers the up-front student contribution fees for the chosen course and other ancillary costs up to $1,000 per annum, are:

  • Neil Thomas from Waterford (studying Arts/Law);
  • Benjamin Hogan from Floreat (studying Arts/Law);
  • Yita Choong from Winthrop (studying Engineering/Commerce);
  • Bharath Iyer from Churchlands (studying Arts/Law);
  • Naomi Altman from Dianella (studying Science/Engineering); and
  • Nicholas Watts from Peppermint Grove (studying Medicine/Surgery).

Recipients of The UWA Fogarty Foundation Regional Scholarships, which cover student contribution fees for their chosen course, accommodation fees at a college affiliated with the University, and other approved ancillary costs to a maximum of $1,000 per annum, are:

  • Jeremy Cheang from Eaton (studying Engineering); and
  • Meluka Bancroft from Busselton (studying Arts/Law).

Have questions?

Help young people realise their potential