Congratulations to Lynwood Senior High School, a member of Cohort 4 in the Fogarty EDvance program, on being named WA Secondary School of the Year for 2018! Principal Geri Hardy accepted the award this morning at the WA Education Awards, congratulating her staff, school board and the students.

Lynwood’s focus on tracking student attendance, behaviour, academic achievement and wellbeing is exceptional – and has led to real impacts for their students. This has a flow on effect to staff and the culture at the school. As Geri puts it, “Our teachers love working with students at Lynwood; in our latest staff survey, they stated overwhelmingly that they want to keep working here because of the culture and work environment.

Lynwood is committed to incorporating student voice and community feedback to drive the school’s direction. The implementation of high-impact teaching practices has led to high academic progress and a belief from all that students, regardless of their postcode, know they can succeed.

We are also thrilled to congratulate Warriapendi Primary School, who just finished their 3-year program in Cohort 3, who were recognised for their extraordinary achievements as finalists in the WA Primary School of the Year category. Warriapendi, led by Principal Natasha Doyle, sets the bar for success for students from disadvantaged communities, performing above the state average in reading and more than a standard deviation above expected performance in 9/10 NAPLAN areas.

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners of the WA Education Awards 2018! A full list of the winners can be found here.

Have questions?

Help young people realise their potential