2024 FSA Committee Announcement 

January 22, 2024

The Fogarty Foundation extends its congratulations to the newly elected members of the Fogarty Scholars Association (FSA) Committee for 2024. We look forward to seeing the contribution they will make in 2024 to the Association and to contributing to the experience of all UWA Fogarty Scholars. 

It is particularly pleasing to see the second year Scholars taking on Committee roles, following their contribution to running the Fogarty Futures Conference in 2023. We look forward to seeing the impact they will make in 2024 to the Association and to contributing to the experience of all UWA Fogarty Scholars. 

President: Shantelle Jeyakumar (3rd year Integrated Dental Science studies); whose leadership skills and dedication to fostering a strong and inclusive community to date among Fogarty Scholars will contribute significantly to the Association. 

Vice President: Mariya Faisal (2nd year, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Public Health studies) will continue to demonstrate her collaborative efforts in enhancing the academic and social experiences of Fogarty Scholars. 

Secretary: Sienna Hanikeri (2nd year, Integrated Medical Sciences with Clinical Practice studies) will be able to use her organisational skills and attention to detail, following her contribution to the Fogarty Futures Conference management in 2023.  

Treasurer: Josh Peckover (4th year, Politics, Philosophy and Economics studies) will be the financial steward of the FSA, focusing on the Association’s fiscal health and the successful execution of its programs. 

Communication Director: Jade Wallwork (2nd year, Communication and Media Studies and Law and Society studies) will continue her focus on ensuring effective communication within the Fogarty Scholars community. 

General Representative: Naveen Nimalan’s (3rd year, Automation and Robotics studies) appointment as General Representative demonstrates his commitment to representing the diverse interests and perspectives of Fogarty Scholars. We congratulate Naveen and anticipate that his advocacy will contribute to a vibrant and inclusive community. 

Through 2024, the FSA will orchestrate a series of events, workshops, and mentoring initiatives designed to cultivate a sense of community and foster a supportive cohort environment among scholars. 

The recent establishment of the Fogarty Foundation’s Scholars Platform, will help enable even better collaborate with the FSA, ensuring that communication flows seamlessly and Scholars enjoy direct access to an array of enriching workshops, events, and opportunities tailored to their needs.  

We wish the Committee all the best for 2024 and look forward to working together to enhance the educational journey of our Scholars and support a vibrant and connected Scholar community. 

Share this article