An InspirED discussion with the UWA Fogarty Scholars

October 27, 2020

There were some very inspired conversations at the University of Western Australia (UWA) recently, as UWA Fogarty Scholar and ABC radio producer, Katie Macalister, moderated a panel discussion with four inspirational Scholars: Alumnus, Rhodes Scholar and Junior Doctor Richard O’Halloran; Alumnus and Mosman Park Councillor Georgie Carey; Luke Barber, who is completing his thesis in economics on Australian politics and media; and Benjamin Caufield, second year music student and enthusiast. 

Held at the new EZONE UWA, a world-class learning space for engineering and mathematical science students, the event brought together past and present Fogarty Scholars, Professor Amit Chakma, Vice Chancellor of UWA, Annie Fogarty, Executive Chairperson of the Fogarty Foundation, and other UWA and Foundation staff and special invitees.  

Katie introduced the panel before moderating discussions about the Scholars passions, how an enthusiasm for something can inform their career and life, and how it is important to acknowledge your passion without feeling guilty. 

The Scholars also spoke about change; how change is implemented in local government, health care and the arts, and how a shift in the way we look at big data could be beneficial to the way we all see the world.    

Graduating Scholars were recognised for their efforts and achievements as they were awarded graduation certificates, and it was announced that Rachel Tantular was the 2020 recipient of the Jeremy Cheang Award (you can read more about Rachel and her planned initiative here.

Professor Amit Chakma, the new Vice Chancellor at UWA spoke about the significance of the scholarship program and the impactful role that the Scholars can play both while they are at university and once they are pursuing their careers and ambitions. 

Thank you to everyone who attended this inspiring event. It was a wonderful opportunity to hear about how the UWA Fogarty Scholars are working towards or already acting as leaders in our community and beyond.  

Share this article