Fogarty Literary Award 2021

March 15, 2021

The Fogarty Foundation and Fremantle Press are looking for Western Australia’s next inspiring author to be awarded The Fogarty Literary Award.

The Fogarty Literary Award is a biennial prize awarded to an unpublished manuscript by a Western Australian author aged between 18 and 35 for a work of fiction, narrative non-fiction or young adult fiction. The winner receives a cash prize of $20,000 and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press.

The inaugural winner of The Fogarty Literary Award was Rebecca Higgie for her manuscript The History of Mischief, published in September 2020. Rebecca’s book has been described as evocative, ambitious and an impressive debut.

“…this book is at its heart a rumination on grief, the corrosive nature of secrets and the redemptive power of love…An impressive debut and a worthy inaugural winner of the Fogarty Literary Award.”

Jan Nicholls, President, Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) – WA Branch

“This is a marvelous debut, a unique novel from an emerging writer of huge ambition and astonishing intellect, that will satisfy adults as much as the younger audience it is aimed at.”

Emma Young, The Sydney Morning Herald

Since the quality of shortlisted manuscripts was so high in 2019, Fremantle Press also awarded contracts to shortlisted writers Emma Young for The Last Bookstore and Michael Burrows for Where the Line Breaks.

Entries for the 2021 Fogarty Literary Award close at midnight WST on Sunday 18 April 2021. Shortlisted authors will be notified by phone or email in the last week of May 2021 and the winner will be announced at a special event in June 2021. For more information visit

Share this article