Katherine Allum’s Manuscript “The Skeleton House” wins the Fogarty Literary Award 2023

May 26, 2023

In a high anticipated awards ceremony held last night at the Edith Spiegeltent at ECU, Katherine Allum emerged as the winner of the highly esteemed 2023 Fogarty Literary Award. Allum’s exceptional manuscript, “The Skeleton House,” received widespread acclaim and earned her a $20,000 cash prize, as well as a coveted publishing contract with Fremantle Press.

American-born, West Australian based Allum poured her heart and soul into crafting “The Skeleton House” amidst the backdrop of the COVID-19 pandemic. Overcoming the challenges of limited space and remote work, she penned her novel at a small table in her one-bedroom flat. Her evocative storytelling and deep introspection led to the creation of a remarkable narrative, following the journey of Meg, a mother grappling with the tension between her yearning for independence and the image of her seemingly flawless marriage.

The Fogarty Foundation, in collaboration with Fremantle Press, proudly supports emerging Western Australian writers through the Fogarty Literary Award. The recognition and celebration of Katherine Allum’s achievement serves as a testament to the Foundation’s commitment to fostering local literary talent.  In announcing the winner, Fremantle Press CEO (Ms) Alex Allan expressed excitement over the upcoming publication of “The Skeleton House” in 2024, underscoring Allum’s extraordinary writing prowess and her dedication to supporting fellow writers. The Award’s shortlisted candidates, Prema Arasu, Josh Kemp, Patrick Marlborough, Karleah Olson and Emily Paull will also receive invaluable guidance from Fremantle Press to further refine their manuscripts.

The bi-ennial Fogarty Literary Award, designed for Western Australian writers aged 18 to 35, has consistently championed young literary voices since its inception in 2019. Through the generous support of the Fogarty Foundation, the Award has enabled numerous previously unpublished authors to release their books, with some even receiving major national literary accolades as a result.  

To purchase past Award-winners’ books (and Katherine’s when it is published in 2024), please visit the Fremantle Press website

Share this article